2018 Dakar Rally Stage 9 Cancelled: Riders Prepare for Stage 10

Adrien Van Beveren holds a slim lead as the 2018 Dakar Rally takes an unscheduled break with the elimination of Stage 9; 22 precious seconds.

As mentioned during our Stage 8 coverage of the 2018 Dakar Rally, Stage 9 was cancelled after the Dakar Rally orgnaizers decided to cancel the final stage in Bolivia after heavy flooding and swollen rivers ruined the timed special route.

2018 Dakar Rally
Adrien Van Beveren holds a precarious overall lead of just 22 seconds in the 2018 Dakar Rally. AVB and the rest of the field will continue their run to the finish in Stage 10 tomorrow. PHOTO: YAMAHA MOTOR EUROPE.

That left the competitors and their crews to complete the 520-kilometer stretch to the next bivouac in Salta, Argentina.

Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team’s Adrien Van Beveren barely clings to the overall lead in the 2018 Dakar Rally, 22 seconds ahead of Monster Energy Honda’s Kevin Benavides.

“The rain, the mud and the high altitude made things really hard for us these last two days. It was really exhausting physically, but I managed to get two good stage results. I am feeling great so far on my bike, and I also have a great feeling with my navigation. I can be fast while also avoiding navigational mistakes, and that is crucial for the coming stages as well. I feel that I’ve put the pieces of the puzzle together, and now I know what I need to do during the coming stages.”

Tuesday’s stage 10 of the 2018 Dakar Rally will finish in the city of Belén. The timed special will run along a 373-kilometer route.

2018 Dakar Rally Overall Rally Standings through 9 of 14 stages (Stage 9 cancelled)
1. Adrien Van Beveren (FRA(-Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team / 27 hours, 22 minutes and 3 seconds
2. Kevin Benavides (ARG)-Monster Energy Honda Team / +00:00:22
3. Matthias Walkner (AUT)-Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team / +00:06:34
4. Toby Price (AUS)-Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team / +00:07:35
5. Joan Barreda (SPA)-Monster Energy Honda Team / +00:08:01
6. Antoine Meo (FRA)-Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team / +00:09:56
7. Stefan Svitko (SLO)-Slovnaft Team / +00:31:55
8. Ricky Brabec (USA)-Monster Energy Honda Team / +00:31:58
9. Gerard Farres (SPA)-Himoinsa Team / +00:45:52
10. Johnny Aubert (FRA)-Gas Gas Racing / +01:10:02