Top 10 Desert Racers of All Time

Our Top 10 Desert Racers of All Time celebrates the ‘Fastus’ through da’ Cactus!

Dan Smith
Dan Smith

4. Dan Smith
As a factory Husqvarna (and later KTM) rider, Dan Smith ruled the desert in the 1980s, posting a record 59 AMA District 37 wins, making him far and away the most dominant rider in Southern California desert racing history. Smith was also the inaugural champion of the AMA National Championship Hare & Hound Series in 1986, and he backed that up with four more consecutive titles. He is one of three men to earn the Hare & Hound title five times, and one of two—along with the late Danny Hamel—to win it five times in a row. Smith and teammate Dan Ashcraft also struck gold in Baja, winning the Baja 1000 in 1983 and the Baja 500 in 1984 (Smith went on to win in Baja on four wheels as well).