Top 10 Desert Racers of All Time

Our Top 10 Desert Racers of All Time celebrates the ‘Fastus’ through da’ Cactus!

J.N. Roberts
J.N. Roberts

2. J.N. Roberts
James Nelson “J. N.” Roberts set the bar for all others to follow. Few riders have ever been able to read desert terrain at high speed as well as J.N. In addition to becoming the first motorcycle winner in the Baja 1000 along with teammate Malcolm Smith, Roberts blazed a trail of fury across the deserts of the Southwestern United States. His major victories include winning the Barstow to Vegas race four times in a row from 1968 through 1971, making him the winningest racer in the history of the fabled point-to-point race. He is also a three-time Mint 400 Champion and has two Baja 500 wins to go along with his two Baja 1000 wins. Roberts is second on the all-time AMA District 37 winner’s list, with 34 wins, and he still holds the record for the most consecutive District 37 wins, with nine. Retired after a career as a Hollywood stuntman, Roberts now lives in Montana. He was inducted into the AMA Hall of Fame in 1999.